Regimen Building 101


Are you ready for a regimen makeover??

A hair care regimen includes steps taken consistently to foster a healthy scalp and strands, therefore leading to improved retention and longer hair. I personally went through a period of trial and error before I figured out what worked for me and the biggest tip here is to focus on what your hair loves. Stick to your regimen for better results. Here’s a list of the items to include in your regimen:

1. Moisturizing Shampoo (1-2x/week): Read the ingredients and steer clear of any shampoo containing Sodium Lauryl Sulfate/Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate.  I know you probably think that shampooing weekly is a bit much, but trust me it promotes a healthier scalp which fosters growth.  I use: Silk Elements Luxury Moisturizing Shampoo. Other examples: Cream of Nature, Elasta QP Shampoo, Organix Coconut Shampoo (Walgreens).

2. Clarifying Shampoo (1-2x/month): A clarifying shampoo removes product build-up to give you a fresh start. Clarifying shampoos contain sulfatesand should not be used regularly. I use: Paul Mitchell Green Tea Clarifying Shampoo (Sally’s Beauty Supply Generic Version). Other examples: Nexxus Aloe Rid Shampoo, Pantene Purity Clarifying Shampoo, Giovanni 50:50 Balancing Shampoo (organic; Whole Foods), Albert V05 Tea Therapy Shampoo, Suave Clarifying Shampoo.

3. Moisturizing “Quickie” Conditioner: Used immediately after shampoooing, leave on for 3-5 minutes, and rinse out. I use: Suave Humectant Conditioner. Any moisturizing shampoo will do the job with this one though! (recommended: Garnier 3-minute masque)

4. Protein Conditioner/Reconstructor: I strongly recommended that this type of conditioner is used after each shampoo since it helps to rebuild protein bonds broken due to the chemicals in relaxers. I use: Aphogee 2-Minute Reconstructor. Other examples: Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise, Nexxus Keraphix, Motions CPR.

5. Deep Conditioner (recommended after each shampoo). Deep condition for 20-30 min. with heat or about an hour without heat. I use: Elasta QP DPR-11. Examples include: Silk Elements Mega Silk Moisture Treatment, Silk Elements Cholesterol Condition, LeKair Cholesterol Condition w/Shea Butter, Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Replenishing Pak.

6. Leave-in Conditioner: Apply to your hair after final conditioner and before styling.  I use: Fermodyl 619 xtra strength and highly recommend this product to everyone, especially those with relaxed hair! Other examples include: Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Leave-In, Elasta QP Feels Like Silk Leave-in H2, Rusk Sensories Passionflower and Aloe Leave-In.

7. Water-based Daily Moisturizer : Use daily. Very important to check and make sure that water is the first ingredient.  Anything other than water in a so-called moisturizer will not feed your strands properly. A nickel or quarter sized amount works just fine and distributes easily. I use: Neutrogena Leave-In Moisturizer. Other examples: Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Moisturizer, Elasta QP Mango butter, Profective Healthy Ends Moisturizer.

8. Sealer (optional): Natural oil to help seal in your moisturizer.  I occasionally seal with Extra Virgin Olive Oil when my hair has an attitude and sops up all of the moisture like there’s no tomorrow. TIP: For a healthier scalp, try weekly scalp massages with EVOO, yummy!!!

Yes, you gotta put in work girl! These are the same steps that your beautician are incorporating when your’re thinking, “My hair is always so healthy and long when I go to the shop.” Now is the time for you to take control of your hair and start your own Hairvolution.

OPEN LETTER MY SISTAS: You’ve probably noticed that a lot of of my advice and product recommendations are different than what you’ve heard about “black hair” needs. This is because I’ve realized that there is no difference between “black” products and “their” products. Chemically relaxed hair has different needs due to its texture, relaxer effects, and improper handling due to social misconceptions. I tossed away all of my preconceived notions about this issue at the start of my Hairvolution and now understand hair in general. I’m not saying products designed for “black hair” don’t work, I’m just saying it doesn’t have to stop there. Please be open-minded and try various products based on your hair type, not your skin color. If you are natural, a lot of these products will likely work for you too, but if you’re interested in a more unique experience, email me for recommendations. 

Photobucket

4 responses to “Regimen Building 101

  1. Pingback: MYTH DISS: Trimming Ends to Speed Growth | Hairvolution·

  2. I am almost one year into my hair journey and I have neck length texlaxed hair. I “co-wash” my hair with VO5 moisture milks conditioner every week with EVOO mixed in it. After that I deep condition woth ORS HAIRepair deep conditioner pack which i feel works on my hair. But I don’t think my hair is retaining length. I shampoo about once a month because that is what I was told to do on my journey. But looking at your site you make me understand things a lot more about my 4b/4c texlaxed hair. I do moisturize and seal every night with Cantu shea butter and coconut oil. Do you have any advice for me so i can retain my length in my hair? thanks

  3. Retention is best achieved by mastering the protein and moisture balance. I’ve doe this by carefully babysitting my strands and adding whatever it seems to ask for. If its too mushy and breaking easily, I kno that protein is lacking. If its dry and no elasticity when I stretch it, then moisturizer is needed. My hair naturally prefers a reconstructor once a week as well as a shampoo once a week. I strongly advise that you keep your scalp clean and healthy. Co-washing is fine, but it doesn’t work for everyone. Too many products, including co-washing, will allow silicones and other non-water soluble things to sit on hair and not allow moisture in, which is counterproductive. Avoid mineral oil, deep condition after each wash, increase your shampoo frequency, and use water-based leave-ins and moisturizers. Protective styling is also very helpful in retention, it was the main factor in my overall retention actually. Good Luck!!

  4. The secret to retaining your hair is a solid regimen that works for YOU. I strongly recommend increasing your wash frequency, because a healthy, clean scalp and strands are vital. Product build-up can actually counteract your attempts at retention, and although your hair may look moist its could be most likely deydrated which is why you are not retaining. Too much co-washing stunted my retention because my hair was too moist and not as strong as it needed to be. Take a look at my regimen and start there. Make sure you’re protective styling a lot, keep those strands moist with a water-based moisturizer once a day, consider using jamaican-black castor oil to seal, and also deep condition once a week with a moisturizing conditioner. Feel free to shoot me any other questions and happy hair growing!!

Thoughts? Advice? Pictures? Please Share =)

