I’m back! And I’m Fully Natural Now!!


 Edit

   

 

  

Going natural is all about trial and error. I had to figure out what my hair loved and that was a challenge since I was working with textlaxed texture and my natural texture.

Hey yall! I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything but I have had to place myself on hiatus to focus on other endeavors. Nevertheless, I love all things hair so naturally I had to come back and fill you in. Speaking of naturally, I left the Hairvolution community texlaxed in 2012 and I am now completely natural. Three years post! I actually had a set -back in May 2012 after using a low-quality boxed henna. I learned the hard way that this is a no no! Henna should always be pure and ordered fresh from a trusted supplier. Those box “hennas” at your local beauty supply are not really pure and should not be used at all. We’ll revisit this topic later. Anyway, the stems from that henna snagged my hair out to the point that I had to call a plumber to drain my pipes. SMDH. I lost about 4 inches of length immediately after rinsing the henna out and was stuck with snagged, uneven hair. After grieving for a few days, I decided wth this is the perfect time to go natural. What did I have to lose? I held on to my leftover textlaxed hair and my natural hair journey began in May 2012. My sister came over and snipped my hair even leaving me with neck length strands.  I also became a certified Product Junkie! Going natural is all about trial and error. I had to figure out what my hair loved and that was a challenge since I was working with textlaxed texture and my natural texture. To blend the 2 textures, braid-outs and marley twists helped tremendously during my journey and I finally felt like “you can do this Sophia!”

 I unconsciously grabbed my shears and began snipping away until all my textlaxed ends were in the sink. I was left with a cute little curly fro. I thought to myself “Welcome Home”. 

Fall 2014: I had just came home from TJMAXX and was excited about finding the Ouidad Omega 3 treatment for $9.99. It’s usually about $24 at Ulta so I grabbed two. Washed my hair as usual and deep conditioned with heat for about 30 min. Checked the mirror before rinsing my new conditioner out and I had the most perfect curls!  I had not been able to identify my texture with the textlaxed ends weighing my hair down, but this conditioner was a miracle! I unconsciously grabbed my shears and began snipping away until all my textlaxed ends were in the sink. I was left with a cute little curly fro. I thought to myself “Welcome Home”. I felt so liberated! It was more than hair to me. It was a spiritual release that I don’t think I’ll ever be able to express in words. I experimented with various hairstyles and products up until I had no more room in my closet. Up until hubby had an official intervention to address my non-stop obsession with hair products LOL. Fast forward to March 2015, I have finally commited to a curly hair regimen that brings out the best in my texture. I wanted to get it right before announcing my natural hair journey to y’all so that I could offer the best advice. I have a lot of info to share and I’m so excited to hear your thoughts and stories! My Hairvolution has gone from healthy relaxed mid back hair to healthy textlaxed hair to damaged textlaxed hair to healthy, bouncy natural hair. Get ready to start your Hairvolution ladies (and gents!). We have a lot of work to do. Tutorials, product reviews, and more coming soon…

  

2 responses to “I’m back! And I’m Fully Natural Now!!

Thoughts? Advice? Pictures? Please Share =)

